The African Writers Development Trust is an NGO that provides publishing grants, educational grants, learning opportunities and other projects to empower Africa’s writers.

This week it has, in conjunction with Writers Space Africa and Writers Space Africa – Zambia, announced the shortlist for the 2020 African Writers Awards (AWA) and the Wakini Kuria Award for Children’s Literature.

The winners of both awards will be announced on the final day of the African Writers Conference on November 7, and will also be live-streamed on social media.

The judges list comprised Sabah Carrim (Mauritius), Henry Joe Sakala (Zambia), Nahida Esmail (Tanzania), Benny Wanjohi (Kenya), and Namse Udosen (Nigeria.

The Wakini Kuria Award for African Literature (Children’s Literature) was established in 2019 to honour the memory and legacy of Wakini Kuria who served on the Advisory board of the African Writers Development Trust and also served as the Chief Editor of Writers Space Africa magazine for almost 2 years.

The shortlisted titles and authors and their respective countries are:

Creative Non-Fiction (1st place – $100)

  1. Each Little Win – Oladejo Oluyemisi – Nigeria
  2. No Role Models – Angoma-Mzini Thulani – South Africa
  3. Requiem for Africa’s Creatively Inept – Mpofu Nathaniel – Zimbabwe
  4. The Intelligent Thief – Nwabueze Vincent – Nigeria
  5. The Task of an African Narrator – Okombo Dismas – Kenya

Drama (1st place – $100)

  1. Jare – Lawrence Abasiama – Nigeria
  2. Lost Destiny – Ukaorji Ogbonna – Nigeria
  3. True Spots – Ojoro Irene Melissa – Kenya
  4. Who Knows Amanda? – Asoloko Gloria Akayi – Nigeria
  5. Odessey of The Kankafo – Adinoyi Abdulbasit – Nigeria

Poetry (1st place – $100)

  1. African Beauty (Haiku) – Musyoka Susan – Kenya
  2. Her Hair, Her Braids (Blank Verse) – Semir-Nyuiy Terry Kimah – Cameroon
  3. Ode to The Blackbird (Haiku) – Duru Nneka Joyce – Nigeria
  4. Old and Gold (Pantoum) – Gaygay James – Liberia
  5. Who I Am (Pantoum) – Ogedengbe Tolulope Impact – Nigeria

Wakini Kuria Award for Children’s Literature (1st place – $100, 2nd place – $75, and 3rd place – $50)

  1. Hessy and The Lost Tooth – Halieo Motanyane – Lesotho –
  2. Scared Little Boy – Madeha Ezekial Malecela – Tanzania –
  3. Sophie What Do You Say? Blessing Aliyu Tarfa – Nigeria –
  4. The Magic Book – Oketunde Judith Oluwatomi – Nigeria –
  5. The Two Sisters – Leonard Maero W. – Kenya –

More information here.